Students will now have access to longer school day with increased funding

Head Start, a Tri-County Community Action Program, recently received an increase in funds to support the longer school day for Head Start programs in Berlin and Littleton in Northern New Hampshire.

Congress has appropriated $294 million in supplemental funding for existing Head Start and Early Head Start programs to increase the number
of hours and days of services offered to children enrolled in Head Start and Early Head Start programs.

Tri-County CAP Head Start has received a portion of this grant award to increase services to children and families of the North Country. Currently,
Head Start, a Tri-County Community Action Program serves 235 children/210 families throughout Carroll, Coos and Grafton Counties. With this new funding, 85 of the enrolled children will now be offered extended hours in the Berlin and Littleton Head Start classrooms starting in the fall. Children that attend classes Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until noon will now be able to extend their day until 2 p.m. starting in September. These children will also attend classes until mid-June in 2018.

"We are very excited to be able to offer enhanced services to the families we serve," says Jeanne Robillard, COO of Tri-County Community Action Program, Inc. "These hours will be more family friendly, especially for the working parents."

Head Start is a federally funded free early childhood program for families with children between the ages of three and five. According to the Head Start annual program information report Tri County Community Action Head Start served 280 children/265 families in 12 center-based
classrooms and three home base options in nine locations within Carroll, Coos, and Grafton counties during the 2015-2016 program year.

For more information about Head Start in Coos, Carroll and Grafton County, to enroll a child, to apply for a position, visit or call (603) 752-7138.

Meaghan L. Santy Memorial Scholarship available for college students

The Meaghan L. Santy Memorial Scholarship is now available for those students who are currently in their second, third or fourth year of college. Meagan’s family and friends established and continue to provide a scholarship in her memory. Preference will be given to a deserving candidate enrolled in a business program or attending a Christian college. However, other majors will also be considered and candidates are urged to apply. Qualifying criteria includes a copy of your financial aid form, G.P.A. of 2.8 or better, a brief character reference from the college the student is attending, and a short “needs” statement written by the applicant.

Applications can be picked up in the guidance office at Gorham Middle/High School during regular school hours, call (603) 466-3600 to have one emailed or download it from the school’s website The deadline to return applications is May 15.

Students recognized for academic achievement

BERLIN — The following students have been named to the Berlin High School Achievement List for the second quarter of the 2016-2017 school year. These students have received an unweighted numerical average of 90.0 or above for their coursework during the past quarter. This is not related to the National Honor Society, rank-in-class or GPA.

Grade 9

Hunter Allbee, Connor Arsenault, Kaelyn Blais, Olivia Boucher, Hannah Brewer, Jadyn Campbell, Michael Dellis, Darrian Drapeau, Bryn Dube, Allison Dumesnil, Jenna Edwards, Natalie Guitard, Breeanna Haas, Treniti Holden, Cora Huter, Matthew King, Cameron Laflamme, Matthew Landry, Serenity McLain, Hayley Norton, Kaylee Peare, Natalie Williams, Dorothy Winslow, Maria-Regina Young.

Grade 10

Kelsey Alimandi, Jenah Arsenault, Emily Baillargeon, Joshua Berthiaume, Kali Blais, Connor Brown, Haley Coulombe, Lana Downing, Trevor Dube, Isaac Duchesne, Nathan Fecteau, Lauren Frenette, Kaley Hall, Teah Hickey, Haily Knapp, Jillian Lefebvre, Gabrielle Lessard, Emily Letellier, Makayla Letendre, Alynna Leveille, Libby Nett, Allison Theriault, Aiden Wood.

Grade 11

Evan Arsenault, Parker Ayotte, Desmond Bradford, Sarah Clark, Cameron Cochran, Noah Cornish, Jonathan Demers, Paul Hernandez, Kiara Law-as,
Kara Mercier, Matrix Moholland, DeAnna Moores, Abigail Morin, Jacob Ramsey, Kristin Shannon, Thomas Sullivan.

Grade 12

Myra Arsenault, Tyler Aubut, Christopher Auger, Isaac Balderrama, Shelby Barney, Rylie Binette, Celina Blais, Shania Bolduc, Regan Boucher, Riley Cornish, Audrey Coulombe, Noah Dumas, Samuel Essig, Autumn Gagnon, Allison Gallagher, Trent Garcia, Stacy Gendron, Autumn Goyette, Baileigh Hoyt, Haley Kline, Matthew Landry, Elizabeth Marquis, Samantha Mercier, Brianne Morneau, Renee Morrissette, Robyn Parker, Tiffiney Poirier, Mariah Ramsay, Breanna Roy-Demers, Tyler St. Cyr, Shaeleigh Valliere, Shahiyena Younie.

Scholarships available through NH Charitable Foundation and Plan NH

Last year, in partnership with the N.H. Charitable Foundation, Plan N.H. distributed over $30,000 In scholarship and fellowship monies to a dozen students. Applications for this year are due April 12. For more information and the application materials, go to