Filing period closed, contested races for mayor, council, and school board

BERLIN — The filing period for the November municipal election closed Tuesday and there are contested races for mayor, city council and school board.

Incumbent Mayor Paul Grenier is running for a fifth consecutive term. In a rematch of the 2015 race, he faces a challenge from businessman Rich Mattos. The mayor serves a two-year term.
Eight candidates have filed the four open city council positions. All four incumbents, Mike Rozek, Russell Otis, Lucie Remillard and Diana Nelson, have filed. Running as a team with Mattos are Lanetha Strahan, Jeffrey Lagrange, Andre Martel and Christina Dickinson. Councilors serve a four-year term.

Six candidates have filed for three two-year seats on the board of education. Incumbents Nicole Plourde, Louise Valliere, and Denise Valerino have all filed for re-election. Also filing for the positions are Debra Ackerman, Robert Hill and Heidi Richard.

Incumbent Scott Losier is the only candidate for the four-year school board seat.

Incumbents Yvonne Thomas and Linda LaFleur filed for the two library trustee positions. The positions are two-year terms.

The municipal election is Nov. 7 with the city’s three polling places open from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. North Country Listens has scheduled a Candidates Night for Nov. 1, from 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. at city hall and invited mayoralty, city council and school board candidates.

Complete List of Municipal Candidates

Mayor (two-year position) – Paul Grenier of 492 Champlain St., and Richard Mattos, Jr., of 700 Lancaster St.

City Council (four four-year positions) — Lanetha Strahan of 207 Willard St., Christina Dickinson of 19 Charron Ave., Jeffrey Lagrange of 117 Wight St., Andre Martel of 375 Derrah St., Michael Rozek of 2525 Howard St., Lucie Remillard of 85 Hinchey St., Russ Otis of 18 Cascade St., and Diana Nelson of 46 Franklin St.

School Board – (three two-year positions) Nicole Plourde of 111 Washington St., Louise Valliere of 25 Pinecrest St. Debra Ackerman of 15 Arlington St., Robert Hill of 19 Brett St., Heidi Richard of 162 Denmark St., and Denise Valerino of 84 Horne St.; and (one 4-year position) Scott Losier of 52 Main St.

Library Trustee (two two-year positions) — Linda Lafleur of 400 High St. and Yvonne Thomas of 557 Norway St.

Supervisor of the Checklist (12 positions) — Donald Bisson of 84 Summer St., Paul Croteau of 380 Norway St., Roland Croteau of 80 Granite St., Shirley Croteau of 380 Norway St., Melvin Heidt of 770 Sixth Ave., Donald Huot of 45 Countryside Ave., Jean Lemieux of 109 State St. and Robert Pelchat of 171 Wight St.

Ward Clerk (three positions) – John DeChamplain of 15 Boulay St. and Lucille Lavoie of 350 Goebel St.

Moderator (three positions) – Robert Dumoulin of 680 Lancaster St. and Robert Morrissette of 121 Madigan St.