Corbin shines at NASTAR nationals

Xavier Corbin also known as "X-Man 5" of Laconia competed in the Liberty Mutual NASTAR National slalom ski racing competition in Steamboat springs Colorado from March 23-26, bringing home the gold medal.
Going into the competition he was fifth in the country in his division of 1,716 racers, but came home in first place. From there he went on to compete against all gold medal recipients ranging in ages from 4-80. In all there were 56 racers and Corbin placed 15th overall.
Corbin spends most of his summers camping at Cedar Pond Campground and has many extended family members in Berlin. He is the great grandson of Norman and Millie Chaloux.
According to his family, Corbin gets very excited when they drive by the ski jump, because he says one day he is going to ski off there just like Eddy the Eagle.
Even without professional training or coaching, Corbin received his first trophy at the age of 2 when he competed in his first NASTAR race at Ragged Mountain in Danbury. He was the youngest skier they ever had race and the youngest skier to win a competition. Many have compared him to Bodie Miller. Corbin was introduced to the sport by his grandfather Duane Derosier, who is an instructor at Ragged Mountain in Danbury. He has been skiing since he was a year-and-half. Corbin is known for his signature alligator helmet cover and bright ski suit.

through gate

Berlin boys' tennis splits first two matches

By Jean LeBlanc
BERLIN — The Berlin boys' tennis team got its season underway on the road by defeating Prospect Mountain 8-1, but falling to Littleton 7-2 recently.
In singles against the Timberwolves, the Mounties swept all six contests. Senior Noah Dumas won 8-1 over Max Tuttle; Matt Landry was a 9-7 winner over Jack Kelley; sophomore Thomas Cole defeated Lucas Therrien 8-4; fourth seed Kayden Dube was an 8-2 winner over Colby Bisson; senior Jonah Tupick won 8-6 over Tim Clifford; and Ryley Cote blanked Josh Kesler 8-0.
"It was exciting to get out for our first match in nice weather," said Coach Christine Boulanger. "The team did a great job pulling it together for this win. Thomas and Matt experienced great comebacks in their singles matches, which were won with much perseverance."
In doubles, Berlin's top tandem of Dumas/Dube defeated Tuttle/Therrien 8-4, while Mounties Landry/Cole were 8-3 victors at No. 2 over Kelley/Bisson, and at No. 3, Tupick/Cote fell to Prospect's Clifford/Kesler 9-7.
"After sweeping the singles, the doubles teams experienced some great challenges," said Boulanger. "We experienced our only loss of the day. The team looks forward to improving our doubles play as the season progresses."
The Mounties stayed on the road and traveled Littleton for their second contest. In singles, Dumas lost 8-3 to Zack Lahout; Landry was shutout by Crusader Sam Martin 8-0; Thomas Cole battled to an 8-6 loss to Joe DePalma; Dube fell to Tyler Lee 8-1; Tupick bested Ethan Boulanger 8-5; and Cote lost 8-6 to Clayton Mersing. 
In doubles, Dumas/Dube lost 8-3 to Lahout/Depalma; Landry/Cole fell 8-2 to Martin/Lee; and Tupick/Cote defeated Mersing/Boulanger 9-8 (7-5 in the tiebreaker).
"Jonah played very well in his singles match and worked diligently to win doubles with Ryley," said Boulanger. "Together, they earned the only two points for Berlin in the match. Most of the individual matches were close and led to deuce multiple times. We look forward to our next match on Friday, which will be our first home match of the season!"

Frenette headed to Italy for hockey

BERLIN — Maria Frenette, a seventh grader at Berlin Middle School, was recently invited to participate in a hockey tournament in Bolzano, Italy, with the 15-U World Select Invitational Girls' Team. 

Maria FrenetteBerlin Youth Hockey player Maria Frenette. (COURTESY PHOTO)

Maria will be part of a team of girls from Ontario, Quebec, New York and Massachusetts.  The team will compete in Bolzano and is scheduled to play teams from Italy, Finland, and Moscow in addition to other teams from North America.  Maria will leave on April 28 for Italy and return on May 7. 

Maria plays for the Berlin Sabres Bantams youth hockey team during the regular season and has participated in the New England Yankee Conference USA Hockey Development Camp and has played with the NH Lady Knights the past three years participating in a few AAA girls tournaments in NH and Mass. 

A Go Fund me account has been set up to assist with travel expenses at and donations can be sent to Patricia Berube, 321 Champlain Street, Berlin, NH 03570.

11th annual Danny Legendre Memorial Golf Tournament to be held at Androscoggin Valley Country Club

GORHAM — The Danny Legendre Memorial Fund is proud to announce the 11th annual Danny Legendre Memorial Golf Tournament will take place at the Androscoggin Valley Country Club in Gorham on Saturday, June 3. This year's executive sponsor is Mr. Pizza.

The Danny Legendre Memorial Fund is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization founded to further enhance the opportunities for local elementary and high school students to participate in recreation and sports as a means of promoting character development, leadership, teamwork and a healthy lifestyle. Proceeds will benefit the Danny Legendre Memorial Fund and the Danny Legendre Memorial Scholarship, which provides an annual scholarship to a graduating senior of Gorham High School.


This four-person scramble tournament welcomes golfers of all ages and skill levels. The entry fee is $50 per golfer ($40 for A.V.C.C members) and includes green fees, cart, goodie bags, golf balls and prizes. Team registration forms can be picked up at Gorham Hardware and Sports Center or Androscoggin Valley Country Club. Forms may also be downloaded from our website, filled out electronically and emailed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..">This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


This year’s tournament is brought to you by a number of generous sponsors, including: Mr. Pizza; ConvenientMD; Apple, Inc.; Ray’s Electric & General Contracting Inc.; Androscoggin Valley Hospital; Gorham House Florist; North Country Dental; Gorham Hardware & Sports Center; Tanner Hill Milling & Construction; Bank of New Hampshire; Town and Country Inn & Resort; Dr. Richard Kay Optometrist; Lynda M. Roberts & Associates; Presidential Pest Control; Yokohama; and DBG Golf.


E-mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with any questions or to sign up, sponsor or volunteer for this year’s tournament. Space is limited so be sure to submit your team registrations early.


The deadline for team registrations is Thursday, June 1. Due to tournament constraints, same-day registrations will not be accepted.


We look forward to see everyone at this year’s event!