More than champions honored at Speedway 51 Banquet


GORHAM — The curtain closed on the 2017 racing season at Groveton, New Hampshire’s, Speedway 51 powered by the Autosaver Group Saturday night, as close to 300 drivers, crew members, families and friends, as well as track sponsors, officials and employees gathered at the Town & Country Resort  for the season-ending awards banquet.

Championship trophies were awarded to the following: North Country Ford Late Models, Corey Mason. Perras Ace Hardware Tiger Sportsman, Brendan Moodie. Caron Fabrication Street Stocks, Bunker Hodgdon. White Mountains Community College Cyclones, Chris Ouellette and Twisted Tea Angels, Vanessa Brown-Savage. North Country Family Restaurant Go-Kart Series champs were also recognized, as well as the A.B. Excavating Daredevil Youth Racers.

Specialty awards were as follows:

A.B. Excavating Daredevils: Hard Charger Award — Jesse Dunham. Most Improved Driver — Hunter King. Sportsmanship — Kyle Labounty.

Twisted Tea Angels: Hard Charger Award — Shawna Whitcomb. Most Improved Driver — Alexus Call. Sportsmanship — Vanessa Savage-Brown.

White Mountains Community College Cyclones — Hard Charger Award — Todd Derrington Most Improved Driver — Matt Mason Sportsmanship — Garrett Labounty

Caron Fabrication Street Stocks: Hard Charger Award — Brett Rowell. Most Improved Driver — Allan Birch Sportsmanship — Kasey Beattie.

Perras Ace Hardware Tiger Sportsman: Hard Charger Award — Ryan Boutin. Most Improved Driver — Bill Stebbins Jr. Sportsmanship — Derrick Calkin.

North Country Ford Late Models: Hard Charger Award — Brendan Moodie. Most Improved Driver — Kevin Boutin. Sportsmanship — Chip Grenier.

Bill Stebbins Sr., Freddie Mills, Mike Mills, Randy Potter and Ralph Stygles were inducted into the Speedway 51 Hall of Fame by current Hall of Famers Pete Marshall and Butch Mitchell.

Dick Therrien won the coveted Bobby Shores Memorial Award presented by Butch Mitchell. Shore’s was a legend in the racing world, known for his knowledge and dedication to racing, all the while working from a wheel chair. Appreciation Awards were presented by Pete and Nancy Marshall to Jack Call and Min Kennett. The Speedway 51 Award also went to Dick Therrien presented by Joey Laquerre and Pam Dunkling.

The 2017 Speedway 51 Driver of the Year award went to Perras Ace Hardware Tiger Sportsman driver Brendan Moodie. Moodie scored 11 victories in his championship season.

Plans are being made for 2018 at Speedway 51 powered by the Autosaver Group. For more information visit the track go to Speedway 51 is located at 78 Craggy Road in Groveton.